Picnic in the Square Quilt Finished!

I’ve been busy busy busy the last few weeks! As well as having a holiday rush in my shop I’ve been trying to get some of my work in progress’ completed. I’m getting a jump start on one of my New Year’s Resolutions to have no WIPs left by the end of 2012. So, if I want to start a new project, I have to finish a WIP. Basically, I’m going for 2 out for every 1 in.

The reorganization of my sewing room is in order as well. Out of sheer embarrassment I will not show you photos. Let’s just say it looks like a fabric bomb went off in there. My shop is organized and clean but I don’t have a good organization system for my personal stuff, yet. Anyway, so, I have decided to get some clear plastic bins and only allow 5 projects to be going on at a time. That should leave me enough to choose from when I sit down to sew.

I started 2 new projects this week and I have 3 finishes to show off. I will show off the one today and then spread out the other two so it looks like I’m more productive…LOL!

Quilt Stats
Name: Picnic in the Square
Fabrics: All prints are from Denyse Schmidt’s DS Quilts Picnic and Fairgrounds lines. Sashing is Kona White.
Binding: Blue Gingham print from Picnic Fairgrounds
Quilting: Straight line quilting (done by me).

There’s no real pattern to the quilt, I just made something up to feature the fabrics. Although, apparently I was influenced by Emily’s Quilt made with this line. I didn’t even realize I’d sort of copied her until I saw her finished quilt…ha! Oh well, great minds think alike. Or, my mind remembers awesome things and wants to copy them.

After finishing my blocks, I wanted to make the quilt bigger so I added on the scrappy boarder with some extras and I’m really glad I did. I love the size and now it looks nice and framed. I pieced the back with extra squares from the front and some bigger pieces I had from the line. And I wanted a binding to stand out so I chose the blue. I am also a big fan of gingham šŸ™‚ I was too lazy to measure it so I have no idea the actual size but I’d say, large lap size. I’m glad to have it finally done, I’m very happy with the way it turned out!

Next finish up soon!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Picnic in the Square Quilt Finished!

  1. Looks fab! Join us in a linky party at tgiffriday.blogspot.com to celebrate your finish !

  2. Lynne says:

    It’s lovely! A simple but effective design that even this novice can follow.

  3. Lucinda says:

    Great job – your quilting lines are so much straighter than mine ever are. Awesome, ambitious 2012 goal – when you get that personal sewing organization system in place let me know – I’m always sorting and rearranging and never satisfied with how I’m putting things in place.

  4. Jacey says:

    I love it! The large floral that makes up most of the back is my favorite from the line. Beautiful, Brenda! And your system for the new year sounds awesome!

  5. Molly says:

    I absolutely love the quilting, it adds such a graphic background to the squares. Well, that didn’t make sense but something about it just grabbed me. LOVE IT!

  6. Flying Blind says:

    Telling you now, I am so going to copy this quilt – it is gorgeous!
    PS the snow made me think I was having some high blood pressure eyesight problem for a moment there!

  7. Claire Jain says:

    Oh my! What a cutie šŸ™‚ I love the back, too. That’s way fun. Thanks so much for sharing! The colors are so cheery. It’s inspiring me to keep plugging away on the queen-sized quilt taking over my sewing space right now.

  8. beth lehman says:

    Late to the party, here, but it is fantastic Brenda!! I love it!

Leave a Reply

