The End of a Sad Week

I’m sorry that this post is a bummer. But, I know writing will help me feel better. This week I got a call from my best friend, Jef. He left me a message saying that he had “news” for me. I was hoping his news was about him moving back from Florida or something exciting, but it wasn’t. He told me that our old friend Phil is in the hospital. He got sick, then it turned into Pneumonia, then about a month ago he slipped into a coma. Perfectly healthy one day, sick the next!

This week the doctors told his family that his MRI showed that mentally, he wasn’t going to recover. I don’t know any details. I do know that Thursday night he was taken off life support and is now in Comfort Care. I pray that he passes peacefully and that somehow his family and wife get through this tough time.

I met Phil in elementary school. He was best friends with my friend Jef. We knew each other through middle school and even though he went to a different high school, we were still friends and we worked together at Red Lobster. We hung out a lot when I was in college. Phil was always trying to make everyone laugh and he always brought us Taco Bell on his way home from work so we didn’t have to leave the house. He is sweet and kind and never did or said anything to hurt anyone else, even if they weren’t the nicest to him. I don’t have a single memory of Phil that is bad. I keep thinking of one time he and I went driving and just listened to music and talked, nothing exciting, just laughing. I keep remembering going to Eat N Park with our other friend Allen and laughing so hard we couldn’t order our food.

Phil,
The world is a better place because you were in it, even if it was only 33 short years. I’m sorry we lost touch after you moved to California. I’m happy that you found a wife and loved her. From everything I read on Facebook about her, she seems awesome. Thanks for being a part of my life. You’ll be missed.
Brenda

My mom sent me a scan of this photo of me and Phil. He was my date (as friends) to Homecoming my senior year. Phil looks so unhappy in the photo (he wasn’t, I promise)! He had braces at the time and never smiled for pictures:

Senior Homecoming circa 1995

My one regret is not talking to Phil in years and missing out on his friendship for so long. I hope this post inspires you to call an old friend just to say, “Hello”. Don’t post on their Facebook wall or Tweet to them. Call them. Make a lunch date. Ask them to tell you about the good in their lives.

I have decided to honor Phil by donating a portion of my profits from Pink Castle Fabrics to the Phil Hudak fund at First Merit Bank. $1-2/yard that I sell in the next week will be added to my personal donation to help ease the financial burden his wife and family have had to endure the past months. If you would like to help, please post a link on your blog to this post or to my shop.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The End of a Sad Week

  1. Molly says:

    So sorry about your friend. Made me very reflective this afternoon thinking of my high school friends. Thanks to facebook I’m in touch with a lot of them again and I think I’ll send out some messages tonight just to say “Hi” and remember the good times.

  2. Brenda,
    I’m so sorry about the loss of your friend, it sounds as if he was a wonderful person to have known.

  3. jesy says:

    Wow Brenda, I am so sorry 😦 I will spread the word.. Phil sounds like he was what a real best friend is and should be.. it defiantly puts things in prospective and really hits home with how out of touch.. personal touch a lot of us have become with social networking.. I will keep you in my thoughts and send my prayers for people that loved him. *super hug*

  4. Natalie says:

    Hi Brenda, I’m so sorry to hear you’re dealing with such a sad loss. It sounds like Phil was a great friend to have had in your life. I think you’re right, we shouldn’t wait to connect with the people we care about. I hope that sewing or something else fun brings you some comfort this week!

Leave a Reply

