Fun Fact Friday

So, I decided to make a new post instead of smashing FFF at the end of the last post. I have decided that every Friday I am going to tell you a few FUN facts about me! This way we get to know each other a little better. If you have a blog and would like to play along too, grab zee button and let me know you are going to play and I will add you to the blog list with a linky.

Fun Fact:

I had a punk rock radio show in college
Yes, I am a punk rocker. Although now I don’t have short spiky hair and I don’t get to go to punk rock shows twice a week anymore, I still listen to the music. My favorite band of all time is the Descendents. They have so many amazing songs: Hope, Cheer, Silly Girl, I’m the One, Clean Sheets…okay all of them. Front-man Milo Aukerman is an official nerd punk god. Seen them twice, which is not enough by a long shot.

Other amazing punk bands I love:

  • Bad Religion – they are about a tie with the Descendents. Best songs include but are not limited to: Sorrow, Better Off Dead, Let Them Eat War. Lead singer Greg Graffin has a Ph.D. from Cornell in life sciences and paleontology. SO cool.
  • No Use For a Name – their albums get stuck in my CD player and I could hear them over and over for weeks at a time. Seriously another band I could go on and on about. Some cool songs: Why Doesn’t Anybody Like Me, Not Your Savior, Slowly Fading Fast. That’s seriously a small few.

I could go on and on all day about great punk bands but I will spare you. For 2 years in college I was the Punk Rock DJ at WKSR at Kent State University. My first show as a Freshman was actually a metal show I co-hosted with a guy named Zoltan (his real name). Then I co-hosted my first punk show with a cool guy named Ryan. After that I was on my own and I added some ska music to the show as well. For a short time I had a co-host named Mikey as my underling. Then we dated for exactly 2 weeks and it was weird so he didn’t come back. My Junior year I was the Promotions Director and set up shows and I got to interview bands including the Mighty Mighty Bosstones, Dance Hall Crashers, the Pilfers and the Skatalites (the greatest ska band of all time!). I made sure I got tickets to all the shows and I knew all the cool people at all the clubs in Cleveland. I even dated the lead singer of Cleveland’s premier ska band Sax-O-Tromba, I am thanked in their albums and was the merch girl. They even have a song or two about me…but that’s for another Friday 🙂

This entry was posted in Fun Fact Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

