Nap Blanket Tutorial –

Image

We just got in all these wonderful Sketch Flannels in our shop last week.  I kept looking at them and going over to pet them and I decided I HAD to make something with them.  I made my son a new nap blanket to take to preschool.  I have made several of these in the past for baby receiving blankets and I thought, “Hey!  Those are still big enough for toddlers.  I should make one for my son.”  I also try and tell people how to make one so often in my shop when I’m talking up easy and quick baby gifts that I decided to make a tutorial up to reference instead of just wildly flailing my hands in excitement and trying to explain it.  

Finished size:  34″ x 38″

Materials Needed:

1 yard of quilting weight cotton (or voile, or lightweight linen, or brushed cotton, or more flannel) 

1 yard of Flannel

6″ diameter circle template (I used a small mixing bowl, you could also use a small plate or saucer)

Image 

I used Sketch Flannel in Cream and Piggies in Green (by Heather Ross)

*note – both the flannel and the lightweight linen that I used were 44″ wide.  Other widths are okay, you will just have to cut them to match.  i.e. if one is 54″ wide and one is 44″ wide, you will have to cut the 54″ fabric down to 44″

Step 1:

PREWASH your Fabrics - Flannel and quilting cotton shrink at different rates.  Wash and dry them the same way you will this blanket when it’s all done.  I just put the two fabrics in with a load of my son’s clothes which is where it will go after it’s used.  Press them well after they are dry.

Step 2:

Trim your fabrics to match – First you will want to trim off the selvedge edges of your fabrics. 

Image

Depending on shrinkage you may need to trim the fabrics to be the same size.

Step 3:

Pin the edges RIGHT SIDES TOGETHER leaving about 6″ space for turning.  I’m using Wonder Clips here in the photo instead of straight pins but they work the same way.

 Image

Step 4: 

Sew a 1/2″ seam around all edges. EXCEPT your 6″ opening for turning.  Backstitch when starting and finishing.

Step 5:

Trace the curve of your 6″ circle on the corners of the blanket. I used a small bowl 6″ in diameter for tracing my curved corners.

 Image

 

I use a Sewline Fabric Pencil (which comes off with water) on the wrong side in the corners.  trace the curve from stitch line to stitch line like shown.  I darkened the stitch lines with the pencil to make it easier for you to see.  Do this on all 4 corners.

Step 6:

Sew on your new curved lines. Sew directly onto the lines you just traced.  Backstitch at the beginning and end.

 Image

Step 7:

Trim the corners 1/2″ from your line. Cut the excess fabric from the corners carefully.  Be sure not to cut your stitching lines.

Image 

Step 8:

Turn your blanket.  Push the right sides of the fabric through the hole you left.  Make sure to get the curved corners pushed out pretty good.

Image

 

Step 9:

Press all around the edges of your blanket.   Make sure you fold under the open edges and press well so the raw edges are enclosed.

Image

Step 10:

Edge stitch 1/8″ all around your blanket.  This will close up your hole and make a pretty edge all the way around.  You could use a decorative stitch here if you’d like too.  Make sure to backstitch when you begin and end.

Image 

You’re DONE!

Now, you just cuddle away! 

Image

Image 

Pretty easy huh?  Don’t forget about these next time you need a baby gift!  

~Brenda

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nap Blanket Tutorial –

  1. Deborah says:

    This is adorable. What a great idea! Thanks!

  2. Esther says:

    Oooh isn’t that just lovely and simple. Gotta love it.

Leave a Reply

