Dreamin in the Meadow Finished!

WOOT! I’m so happy that my quilt is finally done!

I was waiting to get the Picnic Plaid in Pond for the backing for (it seems like) forever!

This was made using Ashley from Film in the Fridge‘s Rectangle Squared block tutorial. All the navy colors on the front are from Joel Dewberry’s Modern Meadow and the green prints are from Jenean Morrison’s California Dreamin. Hence the name: “Dreamin in the Meadow”. The sashing is Kona White and the binding and backing are also Modern Meadow prints!

This was one of the first quilt tops that I have ever made. If you look closely (please dont…!) you can see how the blocks don’t quite fit up everywhere. I learned the importance of a consistent scant 1/4 inch seam and why I should square up my blocks! But I think the pattern is fairly forgiving for a beginner and it looks just fine. Any non-quilter can be fooled I think! This was also the first hand sewn binding I’ve ever done! I have to say that I was intimidated by the whole process but after reading Amy’s hand binding tutorial I felt better. It was rather relaxing and I love the way it looks! So much nicer than the machine binding. I may be hooked. And I got to watch TV while binding. And I love TV (hello! Walking Dead!)…

More Photos!:


I’m happy to be back to quilting things for myself and completing projects! More to come ;)

I’m also excited that it’s Blogger’s Quilt Festival time again! (Speaking of Amy’s Creative Side…)

Amy'sCreativeSide

I’m linking up and I can’t wait to see all the quilts!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Dreamin in the Meadow Finished!

  1. Molly says:

    I love this quilt! It’s so pretty and I’ve always loved that pattern. Can’t wait to see what else you got up your sleeve :)

  2. its3oclockinthemorning says:

    I love this line of fabric. Great pattern as well!

  3. great quilt, and I LOVE the colors!!

  4. Toni says:

    Excellent quilt! I love your choice of fabrics and the pattern you chose really shows them off!

  5. Lynne says:

    It’s a lovely, uncomplicated but effective design with a simple colourway. Perfect!

  6. trish says:

    What a fabulous quilt and I love the backing!! :o)

  7. Lucinda says:

    I think this is a great quilt. Love the color selection and prints. I might try this pattern myself.

  8. Caitlin says:

    Awesome quilt! I feel like I rarely show “finished” quilts these days. Just tops. I like your choice of quilting, too :)

  9. Vicki says:

    Awesome quilt! I love the name:)

  10. Love this quilt, you did an awesome job!

  11. Jacey says:

    It’s such a beautiful quilt, Brenda! The plaid was worth the wait, I think.

  12. Those 2 fabric lines work really well together, your quilt is fabulous.

  13. This is beautiful ! the plaid is so awesome !

  14. andrea says:

    I congratulate you on your work!

  15. Laura says:

    beautiful!!

  16. Love the photographs you took, this quilt is fab!!

  17. two hippos says:

    It looks great! Love the colors + design.

  18. So cute and I really love your binding. My favorite part of finishing a project is putting that last stitch in the binding, nothing is more rewarding.

  19. Marci Girl says:

    Congrats on your first quilt finish! You should be super proud, it is wonderful!

  20. Lyanna L. says:

    Love it – this pattern is so fresh and you’re right very forgiving for a beginner quilter. I also am a huge fan of the fabric – the colors are gorgeous. I still can’t get over the fact that you enjoyed hand binding. Putting the binding on is the worst part of a quilt for me. I seriously have a stack of quilts that just need the binding to be hand sewn and then they’d be finished in my closet. That’s how much I despise doing binding!

  21. This quilt totally stood out for me in the linky party….I LOVE Modern Meadow! This pattern is also a fav & you did a wonderful job with it. Congrats!

  22. Eileen says:

    Very nice quult. Love the fabrics you’ve chosen and your pattern. Thanks for sharing and have a great day

  23. Cynthia says:

    This is such a pretty quilt! Great job!!

  24. Kit says:

    Lovely quilt! thanks for sharing. :)

Leave a Reply

