A Pretty Embroidered Pouch and Spring Top Sewalong 2011

First, I would like to that everyone for the support and kind words and thought about my friend Phil. This community really is full of amazing people :)

I shipped off my package for the A Little Fabric, A Little Chocolate Swap this week. I am loving the pouches. They aren’t hard to whip up and you can do a lot of cute things with them.

I hope my partner likes it! I also sent some Jay McCarroll fabrics and of course, chocolate. :) I made the pouch with the Robert Kaufman Essex Linen with some embroidery and lined it with the pink dots from Denyse Schmidt’s line for Jo Ann’s. I drew the little gnome and the house freehand in pencil and then stitched over it. I have to admit it’s a little wonky…LOL. That gives it “charm” right? I’m seriously going to make sure I always have the Essex linen around. It’s fabulous!


I can’t believe mother’s day is this weekend…I need to come up with some ideas pronto! I wonder if I will even have time to mail anything other than a card out to my Mom and Grandma. I’ve been so frazzled lately! And then I was reminded the other day that I am also a mom! HA! I forgot! I mean, I didn’t forget about my son. But, I don’t think of Mother’s Day as an event that is for me, you know? I suggested sushi for a present ;) Oh, and my brother turns 30 this weekend! He’s all grown up! (Not that I am much older at 32) He’s married, been on TV like 3 times, wins sweet medals for his sugar sculptures and I just found out he and his friend Chad started a business online out of Chad’s bakery. My brother’s own recipes! How cool is that? I’m pretty sure they should send me some of those brownies for Mother’s Day…

I just opened up Etsy and saw this on the front page:
I thought, “hey! I’ve seen that quilt before!” It’s Lynn’s Zinnias quilt. She showed it off at March’s quilt guild meeting. How fun is that??

So, I’m looking for a top pattern. I want to make something from the shot cottons I have in the shop. I’m inspired by all the photos from Made by Rae’s Spring Top Sewalong. There are some seriously awesome tops! I have never made one before and I’m worried that mine will end up like Theo Huxtable’s…

I can’t enter the contest because Pink Castle Fabrics is one of the Sponsor’s but it would be a shame not to have a shot cotton top for the summer!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Pretty Embroidered Pouch and Spring Top Sewalong 2011

  1. Lucinda says:

    I think your little pouch with the embroidery is very cute. And the photos on your brother’s web site look very yummy…I’d like an order of those brownies, too!

  2. Lynn says:

    Thanks for the heads up on the etsy page. I would have missed it.
    Yeah, those brownies look pretty delicious.
    I love your little embroidery. When I sew up some more of my fabric I going to get some of that linen. It really is great for embroidery.

  3. Your pouch is darling! Love the dots inside too.

  4. pinkbrain says:

    Aww I love your wonky little gnome!

    A favourite top pattern of mine is the Schoolhouse Tunic top from Sew Liberated. I’ve made a few of them now (don’t make the shirt length unless you don’t want to wear it with leggings…eek too short for that).

Leave a Reply

